Red and Gold Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

I used to hate beets. Ugh. They were too red, too weird, and had a funny taste. Plus, pink pee? No thanks.

Honestly, I’m not sure when my opinion changed, but I do know that it probably had something to do with me discovering golden beets. I love them. The flavor is less intense and the color is simply marvelous. Not to say red beets aren’t beautiful as well. So, if you want the best of both worlds, do both colors! It makes for an amazing color palate on your plate. Also, I think how you slice beets makes all the difference. I, for one, think thin sliced really is the best and even changes the flavor to some degree.

Below is the recipe for a simple, and delicious salad that is perfect for the colder months when fruit is out of season.

Red and Gold Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Handful of washed arugula

Handful of mixed greens

Goat cheese (Chevre with herbs is nice)

2 gold beets

2 red beets

balsamic vinegar

olive oil

honey

Directions

First, you need to cook the beets. I would recommend pressure cooking them. Fill the pot up to about half way  up to the mid line of the beets, and then pressure cook for around 20 minutes. Once they are cooked, rinse and let cool.

Next, wash the greens and then dry them using a salad strainer. Wet greens make for an icky salad. Then, take the goat cheese and add it to the greens in little globs and mix it with the greens like so:

Now the beet slicing. I happen to have purchased a mandolin for my mom for Christmas. For those who don’t know, a mandolin is an awesome slicing tool that can slice super thin and also julienne your veggies. To check one out, click here. I cheated and used this tool to slice my beets.

Once your beets are sliced and greens tossed, make your dressing. Simply do two parts olive oil, one part balsamic, with a hefty tablespoon of honey, and ta-dah! It would’ve been nice to add some honey glazed walnuts to the salad, but unfortunately I had none.

Pretty huh?

You know who else is pretty?

My boxer, Olive:

Happy almost Friday!

Speaking of yummy beets, this looks good too:
Roasted Golden Beet Salad

Leave a Reply

