Sour Cherry Scones

I love Fall, especially October. It’s when the leaves change, the air smells like rain and damp leaves, pumpkin flavored beverages arrive, and best of all, Halloween—my favorite holiday. It’s also the season of birthdays (My Dad in Oct, my birthday is Nov.1, my mom’s in Nov.) and since I was very little, until this year, soccer season. Some of my best childhood memories involve playing soccer in the golden, early morning light of Fall, the grass fresh with dew. My birthday was always double the fun with Halloween the night before, but kids always arrived sugared out and kind of tired. I typically would have pie, or some less sweet dessert just for that reason.

Today I felt particularly moved by the Halloween spirit and went out to get a pumpkin spice latte, and pumpkins for carving, and whipped up some DELICIOUS scones. I found the recipe, once again, on Hungry Cravings

Sour Cherry Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon fine sea salt
3 ounces (¾ stick) cold unsalted butter, shredded
½ cup dried sour cherries
1 large egg
½ cup plus 1 tablespoon heavy cream
2 teaspoons Turbinado sugar
¼ teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 425˚F. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Add the butter and, using a pastry cutter, cut the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Toss in the cherries. Blend together the egg and ½ cup of the cream in a small bowl, add to the flour mixture, and stir until just combined. Transfer to a work surface and knead a few times until the dough just holds together. Pat the dough into a 6-inch wide, 1 ½-inch thick circle and cut into 8 wedges. Arrange the scones a couple of inches apart on a parchment-lined baking tray. Lightly brush the scones with the remaining 1 tablespoon of cream and sprinkle with the Turbinado sugar and cinnamon. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

 

Makes 8 scones. Work quickly and with a light touch to prevent the butter in the pastry from melting. Serve warm, possibly with clotted cream. Scones keep for a day or two in a tightly sealed container in a cool, dry place.

Turned out awesome. Never made scones before…they are fun!

pre baked..

Out the oven..

YUM.

Also, the other day I experimented with a pre made package of phad thai sauce I got at work..

It wasn’t too bad! I browned up some tofu, cooked my rice noodles, and added peanuts, scallions, peanuts, cilantro, a little soy sauce, an egg, and ta-dah!

I’d give it a 7.5 out of 10. I still like my version on the blog a bit better. The sauce doesn’t exactly make it that much easier is the problem. You still gotta cook noodles, tofu, chop herbs, etc.

HAPPY EARLY HALLOWEEN!

Me as a zombie for the Thrill the World flash mob/dance performance in Pioneer Square..

Leave a Reply

