Easy Chocolate Mousse

Hello Everyone! Been awhile. I’ve been cooking less since I’ve been home and started my new internship. But tonight was my night to cook. I made white bean and kale soup ( see my blog post! Soooo good). I spiced it up and added some bacon, definitely would recommend that. I also made a quick and simple Italian/Greek salad with tomatoes, grated carrot, red onion, and cucumber. I improvised a quick Greek dressing everyone seemed to like. Light and simple with lots of herbs…

Greek Dressing

1 tsp dijon mustard

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup red wine vinegar

lots of lemon juice

salt

pepper

oregano

thyme

But what I was really excited to make was a mousse recipe my mom gave me. It was sooo easy and so good! It was very light, fresh, and creamy. Perfect dessert for almost any meal.

Mom’s Blender Chocolate Mousse

(recipe adapted from The Bon Appétit Test Kitchen, April 2007)

Ingredients:

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup water

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 tsp ground coffee beans

3 large egg whites

mint for garnish

Prep:

1. Grind chocolate chips in blender

2. Bring water, sugar, and espresso power to simmer in sauce pan, stirring to dissolve sugar (1 minute)

3. Pour hot mixture into blender with ground chocolate through a strainer. Blend for 5 seconds.

4. Add egg whites and blend on high for 1 minute

5. Pour into four small bowls

6. Chill until firm, about 2 hours

7. Garnish with mint or raspberries

Total prep time: 20 minutes

Yum. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

