Brussel Sprouts A La Martha

Here in Minnesota, it is getting cold fast. It’s as if the weather gods decided to get rid of Fall completely. But, I will fight against the gods of weather and celebrate Fall to the fullest (my favorites month).

To do this, I first went to an apple farm (with my housemates) , drank apple cider, bought pumpkins, and went through a corn maze. SO Fall of me.

DSC04742

Then I decided to make my favorite Fall meal which consists of chicken legs, yams, and brussel sproutsDSC04768.

The yams I cut into 1 inch slices  and sprinkled cinnamon, brown sugar, a little salt, and olive oil on top. Then I baked them on a cookie sheet at 400 for 20 minutes.

The chicken legs I sprinkled with lemon pepper seasoning and salt and baked them at 400 for 45 minutes.

The brussel sprouts are a bit more complicated. The recipe for these comes from my mom who found it via Martha Stewart so they are Brussel Sprouts a la Martha. This is my absolutely favorite way to eat brussel sprouts, hands down. I look forward to eating them every Thanksgiving and frequently make them in the Fall for some comfort food.

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil, or butter

1/2 pound Brussel sprouts, trimmed and thinly sliced

3 tablespoons golden raisins

3/4 cup vegetable or chicken stock

salt and pepper

Heat oil or butter in skillet. Add sprouts and carrots and sauté over low heat for 7-10 minutes or until the veggies carmelize. Add raisins and broth and simmer until tender (test one!). Add more liquid if needed.

DSC04766

Leave a Reply

